Barbara Stoney's biography

Use this forum to discuss the author herself.
Gavin
Favourite book/series: Five Find-Outers, Valley of Adventure, FF, SS...
Favourite character: Fatty

Barbara Stoney's biography

Post by Gavin »

I've finally finished Barbara Stoney's (updated) biography, about 16 years after I first picked it up in a library as a teenager. I'm kind of glad I waited until now because I can rationalise some things better in the book than I would have been able to then.

On the whole, I found it a rather sad book. I'm not sure if this is because I knew how the ending was going to turn out or if I felt Enid had an undercurrent of sadness in her life which was kept buried in her mind until she could no longer keep it down. It was a very interesting read although I thought it rather sped up near the end - perhaps this is because of all the diaries that had been destroyed from around this period.

I'm sure you guys have discussed the biography a long time ago (I'm just a newbie here) so I'll not go on and on but it is clear that her childishness was both a problem for her and also a great gift. She definitely enhanced my childhood and, I believe, my imagination and even my English, as an adult.
jen
Favourite book/series: Secret Island
Favourite character: Jack or Phillip from Adventure

Re: Barbara Stoney's biography

Post by jen »

Hi Gavin and welcome! I read the Stoney biog fairly recently too and really enjoyed it, I don't think I would have got as much out of it if I had been younger when I read it.
A woman is like a tea bag - you never know how strong she is until she gets into hot water
Maid Marian

Post by Maid Marian »

I'm about halfway through this book at the moment and I am enjoying it so far Image

I'll let you know what I think of it when I've finished it!
pete9012S
Favourite book/series: Five On A Treasure Island
Favourite character: Frederick Algernon Trotteville

Post by pete9012S »