Casting

Discuss the television and film adaptations of Enid Blyton's stories.
missjetset

Casting

Post by missjetset »

Hello I am a film producer and wondered how forum readers would feel if The Famous Five was updated to include a more international looking cast to help make the story accessible to children all over the world? I would love to know your thoughts and who you might want to see cast in these iconic roles. Thanks
Moonraker

Re: Casting

Post by Moonraker »

Good grief no! Enid's books are already read world-wide, it is a series (Famous Five) of quintessentially English stories, set in England in the post war (WWII) years and to change all of this would ensure that all of the special atmosphere created by Enid Blyton would be lost.

As the saying goes, "If it ain't broke, don't fix it!"
Society Member
Eddie Muir
Favourite book/series: Five Find-Outers and Dog
Favourite character: Fatty

Post by Eddie Muir »

Moonraker wrote: As the saying goes, "If it ain't broke, don't fix it!"
Hear, hear!
'Go down to the side-shows by the river this afternoon. I'll meet you somewhere in disguise. Bet you won't know me!' wrote Fatty.

Society Member
Katharine

Post by Katharine »

Nigel, you've managed to say exactly what I feel about the idea, but I didn't know how to express it properly.
Society Member
Daisy
Favourite book/series: Find-Outers, Adventure series.

Post by Daisy »

And another "hear, hear" from me. Well put Nigel.
'Tis loving and giving that makes life worth living.

Society Member
Anita Bensoussane
Forum Administrator
Favourite book/series: Adventure series, Six Cousins books, Six Bad Boys
Favourite character: Jack Trent, Fatty and Elizabeth Allen

Post by Anita Bensoussane »

missjetset wrote:Hello I am a film producer and wondered how forum readers would feel if The Famous Five was updated to include a more international looking cast to help make the story accessible to children all over the world?