Original Three Golliwogs Text

Looking for a book or a story? Post details here and hopefully someone will be able to help.
compo

Original Three Golliwogs Text

Post by compo »

I'm a student and seriously can't afford any of the asking prices for "original Text version book" of the Three Golliwogs.
I would however like to read it as part of my current studies.
To that end does anybody have or know where I could get a copy of the text itself. Perhaps as a PDF or Word document?
Or is there somewhere online I could read it?
Thanks
Jules
Moonraker

Re: Original Three Golliwogs Text

Post by Moonraker »

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/The-Three-Gol ... 4ac8946676" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
Society Member
compo

Post by compo »

Thanks, But that's the 1969 Deans version where the names and some of the text have been changed.
I think I'm looking for anything up to the 5th? edition, around 1950 something (so I'm told).
I have seen one or two on eBay but they are around £50+ each?
Tony Summerfield

Post by Tony Summerfield »

That Dean version still has the original text and they are still called Golly, Woggie and Nigger.
compo

Post by compo »

Tony Summerfield wrote:That Dean version still has the original text and they are still called Golly, Woggie and Nigger.
Thanks for that.
I had read elswhere (probably Wikipedia or something like that?) that some of the text had been either changed or edited earlier than the 1968 / 69 + Deans editions?
Do you know exactly when any of the changes of names or dilutions of the original text took place?
This could be quite important for my studies!
...and I'm now off to eBay to buy one of the £3 books?
Thanks again Tony!
compo

Post by compo »

Tony Summerfield wrote:That Dean version still has the original text and they are still called Golly, Woggie and Nigger.
??? Just had a couple of replies from messages to eBay members informing me that their 1968/69 books list the Gollies names as "Wiggie, Waggie & Wollie" ???